Lathwood Foundry Post Bases
Lathwood Foundry Passenger Platform Post Bases
Lathwood Foundry was located at 22nd St and Smallman St in the Strip District in 1907 when these beams were installed. Lathwood Foundry would eventually be renamed Central Foundry Company.
Originally located at Faber & Elm across from the Pennsylvania Railroad Union Depot in the Lower Hill District, the foundry was forced to relocate to the Strip District in 1897 so that a boulevard could built. Later, the entire area of the Lower Hill District would be leveled to make way for Consol Arena.
Originally from Newport, Wales, proprietor James Lathwood brought with him experience in the foundry business when he immigrated to the U.S. in 1860. He married Annie Louisa Russell in 1872.